Word War One

WORD WAR ONE

 

I touch the words, I kiss the words

I can’t count them.

Consonants and Voweled howl

Lettered Love, cognition’s stem

 

I bite with “T,” I soar with “S”

Textured tongued lovingness

Bearlike B’s will always Bless

And curves of “C” can caress

 

Viva verse with wiggle and rhyme

Sounding that orgasmic chime

Phonic congruity so sublime

Orifice winks in perfect time

 

Those Muscled quatrains stern and strong

So Angular and never wrong

Where every word must all belong

Like soldiers brothered all along

 

And the words when irked will fight

Syllabic armies move at night

Blitzing Brilliant bold and bright

They rage against the dying light

 

While I Deal D’s with princely rage

Exclaiming death on every page

I shout I scream I storm the stage

I am your demonic sage

 

I bellow the oceanic “O”

And Summon sweet fright of Poe

I dream the gallowed garish glow

Of wicked, wise words I’ll sow

 

Copyright, David Gottfried, 1995

Leave a Reply

